2020-2021 School Calendar Skip to main content

2020-2021 School Calendar

Pre-Planning for faculty & Staff Tues., July 23 –Wed., July 31
First Day of School Mon., August 17
Labor Day Holiday Mon., September 7
Student Holiday– School Planning/Professional Learning Day Tues., September 8
Fall Break (Schools Closed) October 19 – 23
Thanksgiving Holidays (Schools Closed) November 23 - 27
End of Second Nine Weeks/First Semester Fri., December 18
Semester/Winter Holidays (Schools Closed) Mon., December 21 – Fri., Jan. 1, 2021

Student Holidays for School Planning/Professional Learning Days

Mon., January 4 & Tues., January 5, 2021
Second Semester Begins (Students return to school) Wed.,January 6, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. National Holiday Mon., January 18, 2021
Winter Break (Schools closed) February 15 – 19, 2021
Student Holiday – School Planning/Professional Learning Day Mon., March 15, 2021
Spring Break (Schools closed) April 5 – April 9, 2021
End of Second Semester /Last Day of School Wed., May 26, 2021
School Planning/Professional Learning Day Thurs., May 27, 2021
Post Planning  Fri., May 28, 2021

 

Potential Make-up Days for 2020-2021
The school system has identified four potential make-up days in the calendar. These are October 19, October 20, April 5, and April 6.
• These days could be used if the school system has to close due to weather or other emergency events.
• The days will not be used automatically. After an event, the superintendent will decide whether or not to activate one or more of the make-up days.
• Identifying the potential days in the calendar is a courtesy so parents and employees can plan accordingly that these days have the potential to be school days.
• Make-up days were purposefully selected to be days near the end of each semester. We would risk closure events occurring after a potential make up day if we tried to schedule the days earlier in each semester.