School Improvement Skip to main content

School Improvement

The Office of School Improvement encompasses the following areas:

  • Federal Programs 
  • Career, Technical & Agricultural Education
  • Teacher Effectiveness, Professional Development, & Certifications
  • Data Support & Testing
  • Implementation of the Georgia Standards of Excellence and the Georgia Performance Standards
  • Selection of locally-approved, guaranteed viable curriculum to support the teaching of these standards
  • Gifted instruction and honors instruction 
  • Support for faculty and students in instructional technology

As a public school system we teach the academic standards set by our state, which are currently the Georgia Standards of Excellence and the Georgia Performance Standards. We welcome the opportunity for our parents and educators to give objective and constructive feedback on these standards.With highly qualified faculty in place, the school system seeks their input to select curriculum materials that they and administrators feel are best to teach the standards. The selection of curriculum is always a local decision.

While the state sets academic standards, it is our job locally to ensure that we hire the most highly qualified faculty to teach the standards. In Bulloch County we invest in continued professional learning for our faculty to help them be most effective. We also provide proper time for faculty to plan and collaborate with their subject- and grade-level peers in professional learning communities (PLCs). 

Because Bulloch County Schools uses PLCs in our system, these are a natural vehicle for faculty and administrators to constantly gather feedback on standards, curriculum and teaching methods. This helps ensure that our faculty are well-trained and well-prepared to lead students to success.

Key Contacts

Teresa Phillips, Exec. Director
912.212.8556
tbphillips@bullochschools.org

 

Federal Programs

Georgiana Darsey, Director
912.212.8555
912.489.5855 (FAX)
gdarsey@bullochschools.org

Teacher & Leader Effectiveness 

Kelly Spence, Director
912.212.8520
kspence@bullochschools.org

Data Support & Testing

Dr. Noralee Edwards, Director
912.212.8554
nedwards@bullochschools.org

Carole Colson, Secretary
912.212.8562
ccolson@bullochschools.org

Brenda Kingery, Coordinator
Testing 
912.212.8565
bkingery@bullochschools.org

Patricia Webb, Coordinator
Student Information Systems
912.212.8567
pwebb@bullochschools.org

Phyllis Harrison, Project Mgr.
912.212.8528
pharrison@bullochschools.org

School Improvement Directors

Dr. Julie Chance, Director  Career, Technical & Ag Education 912.212.8547
jchance@bullochschools.org

Dee Dee Bennett, Director
Pre-K & Early Learning dbennett@bullochschools.org
912.212.8551

Dr. Casey McNeely,  Director
Gifted/Honors/Math/Resources  cmcneely@bullochschools.org
912.212.8571

Jeff Giddens, Director
STEM / Research/ Tech. Fair  jgiddens@bullochschools.org

912.212.8552

Dr. Alissa Sasser,  Director
English/ World Languages    asasser@bullochschools.org

912.212.8572

Dr. Todd Veland,  Director
tveland@bullochschools.org

912.212.8882

Debbie Sarratt,  Director
Health/PE/Fine Arts/Sexuality Ed dsarratt@bullochschools.org

912.212.8566

Sandra Adams,  Director
Science & Social Studies sadams@bullochschools.org  912.212.8558

Secretarial Support

Mandy Motes, Admin. Asst.    for Phillips, Veland, Giddens, Mulnix                         912.212.8553

Amanda McQuaig, Secretary
for Kelly Spence & Dr. Julie Chance
912.212.8513
amcquaig@bullochschools.org

Jennifer Agnew, Secretary
McNeely, Sasser, Adams, Sarratt   jagnew@bullochschools.org
912.212.8570

Cyndi Westberry, Admin.Assist.
for Darsey & Bennett  912.212.8550cwestberry@bullochschools.org

Technology Support

Patrick Mulinix, Tech. Liaison
912.212.8563