2019-2020 School Calendar Skip to main content

2019-2020 School Calendar

Pre-Planning for faculty & Staff Tues., July 23 –Wed., July 31, 2019
District Professional Learning - Elementary Schools Wed.,July 24
District Professional Learning -Middle/High Schools Mon., July 29

District-wide Open House for Parents and Students
4-6 p.m.for elementary schools; 5-7 p.m.for middle & high schools

Tues., July 30
First Day of School Thurs., August 1, 2019
Labor Day Holiday Mon., September 2, 2019
Student Holiday– School Planning/Professional Learning Day Tues., September 3, 2019
Fall Break (Schools Closed) Oct. 14 – Oct. 18, 2019
Thanksgiving Holidays (Schools Closed) Nov. 25 – Nov. 29, 2019
End of Second Nine Weeks/First Semester Thurs., Dec. 19, 2019
Semester/Winter Holidays (Schools Closed) Fri., Dec. 20, 2019 – Wed., Jan. 1, 2020

Student Holiday: 

District Professional Learning (Elementary)

School Professional Learning (Middle & High)

Thurs., Jan. 2, 2020

Student Holiday: 

District Professional Learning (Middle & High)

School Professional Learning (Elementary)

Fri., Jan. 3, 2020
Second Semester Begins (Students return to school) Mon., Jan. 6, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. National Holiday Mon., Jan. 20, 2020
Winter Break (Schools closed) Feb. 17 – Feb. 21, 2020
Student Holiday – School Planning/Professional Learning Day Mon., March 16, 2020
Spring Break (Schools closed) April 6 – April 10, 2020
End of Second Semester /Last Day of School Fri., May 22, 2020
Memorial Day Holiday (Schools Closed) Mon., May 25, 2020
High Schools Graduations Thurs., May 21 – Sat., May 23, 2020
Post Planning  Tues., May 26 – Wed., May 27

 

Potential Make-up Days for 2019-2020
The school system has identified four potential make-up days in the calendar. These are November 25,
November 26, April 6, and April 7.
• These days could be used if the school system has to close due to weather or emergency events.
• The days will not be used automatically. After an event, the superintendent will decide whether or not to activate one or more of the make-up days.
• Identifying the potential days in the calendar is a courtesy so parents and employees can plan accordingly.
• Make-up days were purposefully selected to be days near the end of each semester. We would risk closure events occurring after a potential make up day if we tried to schedule the days earlier in each semester.