Board Superintendent School Websites Departments Employment Employees
Back To School Toolkit Register for School Calendars and Menus Progress & Grade Reporting Student Handbook & Student Safety Parent Involvement School Choice-House Bill 251 Bulloch County Schools Data Summer School Parent Portal Online Graduation Educational Resources Google Apps for Education Testing & Test Scores School Social Worker Student Records Requests Driver's Education (TAADRA)
Career Pathways Pathways to Prosperity
Newsroom Press Releases News Archive FOCUS Annual Reports Community Engagement Key Issues
Home Page Logo
Curriculum & Instruction

Curriculum & Instruction

The Bulloch County Schools Curriculum & Instruction Department is responsible for the following areas: selection of curriculum, instructional methods, Student Support Services, Common Core Georgia Performance Standards implementation, the development of student learning objectives (SLOs) and assessments for all subjects not tested by standardized tests, gifted instruction, the Career Technical & Agricultural Education  program (CTAE), alternative educationsocial work and special education.

As a public school system we teach the academic standards set by our state, which are currently the Common Core Georgia Performance Standards. We welcome the opportunity for our parents and educators to give objective and constructive feedback on these standards.

While the state sets academic standards, it is our job locally to ensure that we hire the most highly qualified faculty to teach the standards. In Bulloch County we invest in continued professional development for our faculty to help them be most effective. We also provide proper time for faculty to plan and collaborate with their subject- and grade-level peers in professional learning communities (PLCs). 

Because Bulloch County Schools uses PLCs in our system, these are a natural vehicle for faculty and administrators to constantly gather feedback on standards, curriculum and teaching methods. This helps ensure that our faculty are well-trained and well-prepared to lead students to success.

With highly qualified faculty in place, the school system seeks their input to select curriculum materials that they and administrators  feel are best to teach the standards. The selection of curriculum is always a local decision.

QUICK FACTS

  • In grades one through eight, academically advanced students are eligible for the gifted program's QUEST  classes.
  • Accelerated high school students can take Advanced Placement classes or dual-enrollment college and university classes through the ACCEL Program . Guidance counselors have more information about these programs. 
  • Our comprehensive special education program offers eligible students all services outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).  Types of services offered include collaborative and inclusion classes, pullout resource classes and self-contained classes. Our staff includes certified speech therapists and occupational therapists.

Contacts

Dr. Mary A. Felton 
mfelton@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Assistant Superintendent 
Curriculum & Instruction
912.212.8560

 

Theresa Beasley
tbeasley@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Administrative Assistant

 

Leslie Schlierf, Exec. Director
lschlierf@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Student Support Services
912.212.8580

 

Teresa Phillips, Director
tbphillips@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Curriculum & Instruction - English Language Arts/Social Studies Grades 4-12
912.212.8551

 

Jennifer Wade, Director
jrwade@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Curriculum & Instruction -Early Learning PK- 3rd Grade
912.212.8558

 

Abbie Lacienski, Director
alacienski@bulloch.k12.ga.us

Curriculum & Instruction - CTAE & Fine Arts
Career, Tech., & Ag., Education
912.212.8566

 

Casey McNeely, Director
cmcneely@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Mathematics Curriculum Grades 4-12
912.212.8571

 

Virginia Bennett, Director

vbennett@bulloch.k12.ga.us

Science Curriculum Grades 4-12

912.212.8572

 

Tim Rountree, Administrator

Transitions Learning Center

trountree@bulloch.k12.ga.us

912.212.8610

 

Rachael Akridge, Secretary

Transitions Learning Center

rakridge@bulloch.k12.ga.us

912.212.8610

 

Dionne Gamble, Coordinator
dgamble@bulloch.k12.ga.us

Social Work/Attendance & Homeless Liaison

912.212.8516

 

Jessica Nails, Secretary

jnails@bulloch.k12.ga.us

Social Worker & Disciplinary Hearing Clerk

 

Ellen Cowart, Lead Teacher

ecowart@bulloch.k12.ga.us

QUEST - Gifted Services

912.212.8564

 

Cyndi Westberry, Secretary
cwestberry@bulloch.k12.ga.us
912.212.8550